AlinsugLaw Blawg and a Nurse-Friend

18 08 2007

I never knew what the effect of this nurselaw blog on nurses in the Philippines. I usually don’t meet the nurses who are the target of the information in this blawg. Well, I met a lawyer friend last week who happens to be a nurse as well with pending petition for the US.  She told me she doesn’t read anything else on US requirements than this blawg and just monitors the articles in this blawg.  She bluntly told me that it’s my “duty” to keep the nurses updated. 

The whole idea of this nurselaw blawg is to be a one-stop resource center for Filipino nurses with interest in immigrating to the US.  This idea I think is unique in the sense that aside from the visa bulletin updates, nurses will get a very focused site:  Philippine immigration-related laws and news, overseas employment rules and regulations, Philippine board of nursing updates, and basically anything related to US immigration and everything else excluded.  This way the Filipino nurses wouldn’t get lost in the maze that is the US immigration.  For instance, there were visa updates in the July 2007 Visa Bulletin that allowed for the filing of I-485’s until August 17, 2007.  But this doesn’t not affect nurses who are outside of the US.  Hence, though it was an technically an update, this was not posted as this will only confuse the nurses as to the matter of retrogression.

Admittedly, I’ve slowed down in blogging these past few months. But now I guess I need to bounce back. I promised her I’d heed the “duty”.  So, Shawbee, thanks for the tough-love encouragement.

Alinsug Law Office
5/F Builder’s Center Building
1170 Salcedo St., Legaspi Village
Makati City 1223
Tel. No. (63 2) 7516730
Fax No. (63 2) 7503149
Mobile: 0917-6246637
E-mail addresses:
homer@alinsuglaw.com or
homer.alinsug@imlhr.com
Blog: alinsuglaw.wordpress.com
NurseLaw Blog: nurselaw.multiply.com
Website: http://www.alinsuglaw.com


Actions

Information

One response

1 12 2007
tricia

hi attorney. i plan to take up nursing as my 2nd course after i graduate from ab communications this coming march 2008. however, i am also aware of the never-ending retrogression issue. how should retrogression affect me?

also, i have a ten year multiple entry tourist visa granted last september. should this be of any advantage to me? thanks!

Leave a comment